Unconventional Love

I think that the most unconventional love in my life is my dog.  Sure, people love dogs, but not like I love my dog.  Don’t get me wrong, I don’t dress her up or paint her nails or groom her in weird ways, but she is my baby.  I got Addie at the beginning of summer right after my Freshman year at UA.  It was right after the April 27th tornado hit. 

I wasn’t even supposed to have a dog in the apartment complex I was living in, but of course, I was an idiot and thought I could get away with it.  She was from a litter of black lab puppies that belonged to my boyfriend’s neighbor down in Gulf Shores.  During All four hours of the car ride, I was going back and forth in my head trying to figure out whether or not I was making a huge mistake.  As I pulled up in their driveway, I couldn’t help but get anxious.  The 10 week old puppy was waiting for me in the front yard.  I picked up the sweet ball of fur, she licked my face, and we were on our way home.  It was like something out of a movie.  Then she peed in my car.  I couldn’t even be angry at her.  I was so in love.  The weeks to follow were tough.  Shoes were chewed up.  Homework was pooped on.  I didn’t know the first thing about training a puppy.  Thank God for my boyfriend.  He’s the reason Addie is so well behaved today.  He had so much patience with her.  At the end of July, my landlord discovered my puppy secret.  She “encouraged” me to find a new place to live.  My parents were so mad at me and told me to give Addie away so that I could stay in my apartment.  Nope.  I couldn’t let her go, and that was the best decision I have ever made.  This dog is the sweetest, most loving, personable dog you will ever meet. There were a few semesters of school that I really struggled through both personally and academically.  My dog was the only one by my side the entire time.

Leave a Reply

